Troubleshoot SQL Syntax Error

This topic is 2914 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am relatively new to sql queries in Filemaker, and I'm receiving the ? in response to the following queries. Because I don't have the advanced version of FMP, I used Evaluate() to return the error code 8310 (syntax error). However I can't figure out where my syntax error is. Hopefully more experienced eyes will spot my problem(s).

The following is entered in a calculated field that returns text:

Let( [

$initials=ExecuteSQL("SELECT TaskAssignedTo FROM workflow WHERE" & Quote("_IDDocLog") & "=workflow::" & Quote("_IDDocLog") & "AND workflow::TaskNumber=9"; "" ; "" );

$name=ExecuteSQL ("SELECT FullName FROM staff WHERE AccountName= $initials"; "" ; "") ];

$name )

Thanks!!

Oops I meant to say that I used EvaluationError()

ExecuteSQL("SELECT TaskAssignedTo FROM workflow WHERE" & Quote("_IDDocLog") & "=workflow::" & Quote("_IDDocLog") & "AND workflow::TaskNumber=9"; "" ; "" );

This is a non functional SELECT statement. I cant even begin to guess what you are trying to accomplish.

You should look into using ? as variable value placeholders in SQL...i.e

ExecuteSQL ( "SELECT field FROM table WHERE field=? and WHERE field=?" ; "" ; "" ; value_for_first? ; value_for_second? )

Edited by Kris M

• Newbies

Thanks Kris M.

I replaced what I was using with your placeholder suggestion (below) but I'm still getting the 8310 error. One problem might be the underscores. But there may be other problems as well.

ExecuteSQL("SELECT TaskAssignedTo FROM workflow WHERE _IDDocLog=? AND workflow::TaskNumber=?"; "" ; "" ;  workflow::_IDDocLog ; 9);