Is Filemaker Inc a bit chicken?

This topic is 7271 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have just a little question to ask:

Is it perhaps possible that Filemaker Inc didnt insert some new functions in the new FMP7 simply just because of the fact that they will interfear with some of the plug-in-companies excisting products?

How much influence does theese companies have on Filemaker Inc?

I would never go and by an expensive plug-in just for one function, then i would consider of changing the software to, for example, Servoy. But i am not a developer, just a simple user for a smallsize company (15 people). I am pretty new to Filemaker, and i have not yet desided if i should use Servoy instead of FMP.

I really hope that this is not a fact, but i am afraid that FM Inc will try not to step on thier "partners" toes. I really dont believe that they would add functions that earlier the plug-in-companies where makin money of in the new FMP if they are not "forced" by the users or to hold a strong marketshare.

Am i right or wrong?

(No, i dont believe that Elvis is alive...)

You are wrong. I think just about every version of FileMaker Pro has had improvements that have rendered some plug-ins obsolete. FM7 does new things that a few plug-ins were doing in FM6.

I totally disagree with Ender. FMI makes little or no attempt at replacing their plugin developers. Consider the fact that after all these years we still can't execute a script when exiting a field (there are at least 2 plugins for this feature). Why, with a brand new version is there no way to automatically upgrade solutions that were created with previous versions? (New Millenium has one). We still have no mouse-over help. The list goes on...