dynamic login via API for PHP

This topic is 6120 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Dear Sirs,

I am new to php, therefore I have an important question that I hope some of he gurus here will help me to make clear!

this is the situation:

1. I have a full filemaker database that I would use to build an ecommerce website;

2.For each customer,in filemaker database, I have created a login and a password,to which are assigned diferent privileges and extended privileges sets;this helps me to have a great control over what each customer category can or cannot do, see or not see(eg.I set up privileges in a way that a customer can see only the orders that he had created;i though that this was a better solution instead of retreiving via php related records;what do you think?)

3.I connect to filemaker database using filemaker server,(for now,testing it on local server);

the filemaker object contructor tells to specify a username and a password as follows:

new FileMaker('DatabaseName', NULL, 'username', 'password');

My intention would be allowing to each customer to log in using their login and password that are stored in the filemaker database;

here is my question about API FOR PHP:

a.Is it possible,instead of specifying username and password in the constructor,to pass them dinamically,taking those value from two text input fields called login and password?

b.And it is possible to make it directly in the index.php page,instead of doing it in a login page?

In filemaker API for PHP documentation I have not found any example or explanation of it.

I hope that someone can give me an anwer, maybe showing a piece of code.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Stefano from Italy