Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Importing multiple photos with SuperContainer...linking to previously created records

This topic is 3577 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

So I am somewhat new to SuperContainer and to designing layouts in FileMaker.  I have a database for a film I am working on and in the database is a record for every clip we have in the movie.  We also have an image that matches the data for every clip that is in the movie.  What I would like to do is be able to batch import all of the photos (using the batch import option in the Super Container Sample) and link all of the files from that batch import to the web viewers I have setup in my film database.  I have toyed around with the address in web viewer, however since every record is a different filename I am getting confused how to link it to the batched photos I brought in with SuperContainer.  Is there an easy way to do this, so if I create new records in my film database and then subsequently batch import their matching photos, things will automatically link up?  I want to be able to use SuperContainer to speed up my database.  I am excited at the prospect of this product, just don't really understand how it works yet.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The batch import script in the SuperContainer Example file creates records in the FileMaker demo database and adds files to SuperContainer. Since you already have records in your database, this example script may not be what you are looking for. If you aren't very familiar with FileMaker layouts and scripting, it may be more less time consuming in the end for you to just use the drag-and-drop feature of SuperContainer and add your images one by one.

I have some questions that may help me make a better suggestion:

- Which version of FileMaker are using, and are you using it with a server (and which version)?