Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Calculating Wins and Loses

This topic is 3524 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi there,

I am extremely new to filemaker but trying to learn on my own.

I am creating a betting pool with my friends for this upcoming football season.  I want to calcuate how many picks a person got right based on calculating their weekly record and then calculating their overall record.  I know this is simple but I can't seem to figure it out.

The fields I want to evaluate in my layout "week 1" are:

Winner - Team that covered the spread

Scott - What team I picked that week

The first thing I did was create a calculation field(Scott Weekly TrueorFals) with  If(Week 1::Winner = Week 1::Scott; 1; 0).  This told me if I picked the correct team I got a 1 and if I did not I got a 0.

Then from there I want to calculate how many 1's (wins) and then how many 0's(loses) there are for the week.  This is the part im stuck on.

Can someone please help me?

Thank you in advance.

You're on the right track, but missing one part..are you only doing one game per week or multiple games per week?(or something like that?)

Anyway, you want to look at Summary fields or the calculation called Sum.

If you clue us into your database structure(tables/links) with a little more detail we could better advise on which function to use to calculate your wins.

You're on the right track, but missing one part..are you only doing one game per week or multiple games per week?(or something like that?)

Anyway, you want to look at Summary fields or the calculation called Sum.

If you clue us into your database structure(tables/links) with a little more detail we could better advise on which function to use to calculate your wins.

• Newbies