Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Automated email example

Neil879

This topic is 3528 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to filemaker and have been developing a database for maintenance parts.

I have a re-order amount for items  and when the re-order amount is reached, the in stock field is highlighted red. 

So here is the  task;  I would like to implement an automated email function where when an items quantity reaches the re-order level an email is automatically sent detailing the product needing re-ordered and it's details (from a product layout). 

I've been looking for examples but can't find details of a conditional email kind of set up.

Can this be done ?

And

Could anyone give me some pointers/advice on making a start on this ?

Thanks in advance for any help/advice

Neil

This can probably be done multiple ways. I think a quick and easy approach is to run a script that loops through all of the records and sends out the e-mail when it finds that the current record meets the criteria. Do you have access to Filemaker Server? If so you can then schedule the script to run off hours. If not then you can either run the client manually (not really what you were looking for), run the client via Windows Scheduler (sort of have windows open up the database and when it opens it performs the script automatically, or run a timer script that will sacrifice a client to an always on script. Just some ideas. I'm sure others have a few tricks they can interject. Good luck.

when an items quantity reaches the re-order level an email is automatically sent detailing the product needing re-ordered and it's details (from a product layout). 

How does an item's quantity change? If you can identify that process (which you should), you know when and where to check the (new) current quantity against the re-order threshold.