Server Maintenance This Week. ×

How to Create Multiple Reminders in A Single Record?

This topic is 3432 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

There is probably a simple solution to this problem that I'm not seeing but I've read through my entire 900 page FileMaker Pro Missing Manual and I can't find the appropriate answer;  I'm using FMP 13 Advanced and I have some basic experience writing scripts, etc.

Here's The Goal:  To start each day with a screen report of tasks to complete for my client files.  I want a report that says 'today you must take care of the following items..."

To keep it simple, I have a client table & a transaction table.  For each transaction that I handle for my client there is at least 25-35 documents to complete.  Certain documents are completed at the time of sale and other to be done during & after the sale over several week's time.  It's difficult to keep track of what forms have been completed.  Also I could be handling several sales at the same time compounding the administrative challenge.  I do this manually now.

Currently I use a simple chart layout with checkboxes that I manually fill in as each task is completed for each sale but I'd like to have it automated with daily reminders of forms still needing to be signed today, 1 day from now, 7 days from now, etc.

It's easy to create a single date calculation field that says I have "X" number of days until the deadline for one item but can I do this for 25-35 reminders and ... (Here's the challenge) have a daily report telling me what is still due?  

I'm thinking I may have to create a "task" table that would have a related record for each one of the forms I need to complete on each client and have it connected to my transaction table.  Then a script to search all relevant dates across all records.  But that seems like so much redundancy to have 30+ records for one transaction file.

Is there an easier way?  Thanks in Advance!