Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Importing a UK Govt formatted xml into Filemaker

blueworld4

This topic is 2543 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am having some trouble getting my XSLT file to work.  I have followed many of the posts on here and have referenced

https://www.w3schools.com/xml/xsl_intro.asp

https://www.w3schools.com/xml/tryxslt.asp?xmlfile=cdcatalog&xsltfile=cdcatalog

I seem to be able to get the examples to work and have had success with the example files for metars.cache.xml weather meter readings, but can't see why my own isn't working properly when it looks the same to me.  Any guidance would be gratefully received.  I am not new to Filemaker but this is my first attempt at importing and exporting data to/from our solution in XML which meets the UK Government standards.  My XSLT seems only to match fields but not actually import and records.  I have attempted referencing the template match to root with  <xsl:template match="/Message"> but this causes an "Invalid Document Structure" error in Filemaker, which doesn't seem to be a problem with the w3schools try xslt page.  I have reverted back to the format in the meters.xslt example file and now hope that somebody can help!!

metars.cache.xml

meters.xslt

ILR-99999999-1617-20160229-144401-01.xml

ILRLearningDeliveryImport.xslt

I am guessing you are having a problem with the "ILR-99999999-1617-20160229-144401-01.xml" file. The reason for this is that all the elements in the file are in a namespace.  They are put there by the default namespace declaration:

xmlns="SFA/ILR/2016-17" 

carried by the root Message element and inherited by all it descendant elements.

This means all your select expressions select nothing. In order to select an element in a namespace, you must declare the same namespace in your stylesheet, assign it a prefix (an arbitrary string), and use that prefix to address the elements in the source XML:

<xsl:stylesheet version="1.0"