Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Portal get records from many to many relation

amg78

This topic is 2762 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello i'm new in FM, i making a data for my company, and i have a problem i been like to 2 days try to solved with out any luck, i have 3 tables:

the company(table "company") can have many projects (table "projects") and the projects can have many person in charge (table "in_charge") and i have a 4th table "project_incharge" in other to add specific  person to specific project so far i got the picture clear the problems is wen i add a portal to the projects table, and to a a record to it from the people in charge i just want to see the people charge for the current client, but i see the list from all the client in charge.

so the idea asigne some in charge people to a specific  project  that work for a specific client, not all the in charge for all the clients i hope i make my self clear. 

35 minutes ago, amg78 said:

i hope i make my self clear. 

Not really. Where exactly do you have a many-to-many relationship? Can a person be "in-charge' on more than one project? If so, I would expect a structure of:

Companies -< Projects -< ProjectRoles >- People

I don't see in your description that you have a table of People (so how can you "add specific  person to specific project"), and I don't understand what the "project_incharge" table represents in real life.

Do I understand this correctly:

• You are on a layout of Projects table;
  • You want to assign another person to the current project;
  • You want to use a value list showing only persons that have already been assigned to any project of the client that owns the current project.

There are several ways you could go about it - I believe the simplest one would be this:

1. In the Client table, define a calculation field cPersonIDs (result is Text) =

List ( Person::Person PK )