FMS Backup Strategy Best Practices

This topic is 2219 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

hello. I am extremely new to FMS. Is there a document anywhere that has best practices on server setup and Backup strategy in particular? Weekly full? daily? hourly; incremental backups? are there transactional backups? What are the issues, corruption issues? mistakes to avoid?

We need this urgently. Believe that the server was not initially set up properly and now, of course, I have inherited the issue :) We are running FMS 14

any help would be appreciated,

In the server control panel you will see Schedules; that's where you configure scheduled backups.

As for white paper I have not yet seen a good one.

Personally I prefer ZFS for storage as this allows for system snapshots, rollback, compression, and separate backups rooted in the snapshots. ZFS has a mac implementation named o3x.

Edited by ggt667

Your backup strategy needs to be set based on the answers to these two questions:

- how much data are you willing to lose?  This determines your 'restore points', how many backups you need to make

- how much down-time are you willing to incur?  This determines your 'restore time', your procedure for how quickly you need to be able to restore the files

The answers also determine obviously how much effort and money you'll need to invest in making this so.  

Incremental backups are as close to 'transactional' backups as we have in FM.  In FM they are called "progressive backups" and they keep 2 backup sets only.  Progressive backups are meant to be part of the overall backup strategy, and not to be the only backup used (mainly because it offers that limited number of restore points).

• Newbies

thank you ggt667. I will take a look. but still hoping for documentation that I can point to as recommendations.