Colored text conditionally determined

This topic is 7018 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I would like to have the text in one field change color as a result of a value in another field.

Field 1 is TASKS:

Field 2 is PRIORITY

If the priority of a task is urgent, the font would turn red.

If the priority of a task is not urgent, the font would remain black.

Is something like this doable in FM7?

Are there any plug-ins available that would do this?

Thanks,

Jarvis

Hi Tim,

Well, I'm not very good with 7 yet and I'm sure there are better calcs, but try this:

Add an Auto-Enter by calculation to your tasks field of:

Case(Priority = "Urgent"; TextColor ( Tasks ; RGB ( 255 ; 0 ; 0 ) ); TextColor ( Tasks ; RGB ( 0 ; 0 ; 0 ) ))

Be sure to unclick right under 'by calculation' the box that says "Do not replace existing value."

If your priority field says "Urgent", the text in Tasks will turn red but if you change the priority to something else, tasks will turn black again. Ah, the wonders of 7!! But that calc isn't very good. smile.gif

In fact, you have Developer 7, and this might be an example of using a Custom Function. Then you could just use getRed or getBlack etc. whenever you want to. smile.gif I'll have to play with that!

LaRetta

The Shadow said:

A smaller variant of LaRetta's method above could be done with:

TextColor( Tasks; RGB( If (Priority = "Urgent"; 255; 0 ); 0; 0 ) )

Yes. Or try:

TextColor(Tasks; (Priority = "Urgent") * 16711680)

wink.gif

That number isn't even divisible by 255. frown.gif All I can think of is that I've heard there are 16.7 million colors. I'm going to play with this too.

( x; y; z ) = 256^2 * x + 256 * y + z

( 255; 0; 0 ) = 256^2 * 255 + 256 * 0 + 0 = 16,711,680

In other words, the colors are defined in terms of base 256. So the maximum number of colors is ( 255; 255; 255 ) = 256^2 * 255 + 256 * 255 + 255 = 16,777,215, giving the 16.7 million colors.