Server Maintenance This Week. ×

lookup problem

This topic is 8583 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I need a database that will pickup old records when we enter a new job that is a rerun.

So after enter in the previous job #. I would like it to scan thru the database and pickup that Job# and What CD its on. After it finds that information I would like it to see if that recoord has a previous job and repeat untill the last record has no previous job#

Say job # 1 comes in. Job is done a saved to cd 1. Now job# 25 comes in and is a rerun of job # 1. So job# 25 needs to pull up the old data from job#1 and list job# and what Cd it's saved on.

But here is what I'm having problems with!

If a new job# 100 comes in and is a rerun of job# 25 than I want to see the saved location of job #25 and #1.

I'm very new to scripting in Filemaker Pro so any help would be great!

Devin

quote:

Originally posted by Devin:

I need a database that will pickup old records when we enter a new job that is a rerun.

So after enter in the previous job #. I would like it to scan thru the database and pickup that Job# and What CD its on. After it finds that information I would like it to see if that recoord has a previous job and repeat untill the last record has no previous job#

Say job # 1 comes in. Job is done a saved to cd 1. Now job# 25 comes in and is a rerun of job # 1. So job# 25 needs to pull up the old data from job#1 and list job# and what Cd it's saved on.

But here is what I'm having problems with!

If a new job# 100 comes in and is a rerun of job# 25 than I want to see the saved location of job #25 and #1.

I'm very new to scripting in Filemaker Pro so any help would be great!

Devin

Let's say your database has two fields: Job_Num and Prev_Job_Nums. Build a self-join relationship such that Prev_Job_Nums = :: Job_Num. Also have a field for Prev_Job which keeps only the most recent previous job in the link.