FMP and ultradev 4

This topic is 8531 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

As a DB newbie, i will try to explain this, please do not flame me for newbie stupidities. smile.gif

At the office i am able to connect UD4 on my NT machine to a MS Access DB, while using a BEA server. Though i accomplished this today, i am already cooking up some JSP pages that allows me to update/delete records in the Access db and also perform login/logout functions. Thought this was pretty easy, i want to do the same thing (building jsp pages) at home, on a Mac (G3/233mhz/192ram).

On the Mac i have copy of UD4, FMP5 and i have a Java server running. I was able to make UD and my java server communicate, but also make UD recognize the FMP DB. For the sake of it, i was running the "Collections.fp5" template. Again, i was able to make UD recognize the FM db, however, the fields in the FM db could not be displayed.

What i did to get to this point was opening up the ODCB Data Source Admin in the control panels of the mac, create a new record using the ODCB 3.11 FMP PPC driver and filling in "test "in the datasource and desciption lines. After saving these settings, i opened up UD, under modify>connection i choose "new", choose the "Sun JDBC ODBC" driver, named it "test" and pressed the build-in test button. A dialog appeared saying that the connection was successfull. In UD4, i tried to add a server behavior in the databindings panel, i choose the "test" connection, but none of the fields of the FMP's Collections.fp5 db showed up.

Does any one know what i did wrong? Thank you in advance for your help and advice.

• Newbies

I have tried out the problem you mention but in win, it can work. But i'm not using java server.

The last paragraph u mention is almost correct.

But did u define the site?

• Newbies