Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Setting up Filemaker server to work with external webserver. (help)

This topic is 4380 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello, im new to the world of filemaker and would like some help/tips with my setup.

FMS is running on a windows box and i would like to be able to connect to that with the Filemaker PHP API from another external webserver (debian, apache2).

As i understand it i need to enable the webmodule on the filemaker server and this needs IIS for some reason?

How do i go about doing this? IIS is allready installed on the same server as filemaker, but when i run the setup, it tries to connect to that server for some reason but is unable to.

If any kind soul could put me on the right track i would be forever greatfull as there is not alot of information on this particular setup online that i can find.

Sould i select a two server option or what, its all bit confusing... dont want to use IIS at all... just want to use filemaker as my database.

A quick step by step would be verry helpfull. What am i doing wrong, is it even possible to use filemaker in this way?

FMS web publishing supports both Apache and IIS. So the fact that you put the database engine on Windows does not mean that you need IIS. The OS of the web server dictates what web server will work: Apache on OSX, IIS on Windows. If your web server is not on the same box as where you put the database engine then yes you need to do a 2-server installation and run the relevant parts on each machine.

You can probably hack it to make it work with Apache on Debian but that would put you outside of any support, so I would not recommend doing that.

• Newbies

So in any case the web server always needs the "web server module" installed on it to communicate with filemaker with the help of the PHP api?

I cant just use any web server with the PHP api then?