Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Questions re: FM from a complete novice

This topic is 3681 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello,

I have been developing applications in Visual Foxpro for a couple of decades and am currently evaluating a demo version of FM Pro 13. My plan is to re-create a few of my apps currently in VFP9 to FM Pro 13 Advanced. I haven't used this version of FM yet but it appears to be the one I would purchase when my trial is up. So far, I really like what I see.

I know I have a lot to learn and don't know if I my 30 day trial will be long enough to answer all my questions. So, I'd thought I would throw out a few to you experienced FM developers:

1. My goal is to create standalone applications I can distribute. It is my understanding that this is a feature of Pro Advanced. Are these standalone apps multi-user? Can they be installed and shared on a network?

2. My current apps have several complex programs - are these able to be replicated in FM? I looked at the scripting functions and was curious as to how flexible and elaborate these can become.

3. Any (current or former) VFP developers out there that can lend any guidance?

I appreciate any insight you can give me. 

P

1. My goal is to create standalone applications I can distribute. It is my understanding that this is a feature of Pro Advanced. Are these standalone apps multi-user? Can they be installed and shared on a network?

The "standalone" is called "runtime" in FM.  But it is not multi-user. Each copy will hold its own data but that data can not be shared across multiple instances.

2. My current apps have several complex programs - are these able to be replicated in FM? I looked at the scripting functions and was curious as to how flexible and elaborate these can become.