Estimates to invoice, inventory movement. Help much appreciated

BleauMind

This topic is 3389 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi, my name is Mathieu. I'm relatively new to Filemaker and and new to the forum.

Merry christmas to everybody and thank you all in advance for your support.

I have a layout for estimates with a portal showing LineItems items:

Clients------>Estimates---->LineItems<-----Products

I use price lookups in lineitems to make sure that if a product price change, it doesn't change in already completed estimates. My relationships are set up so that an estimate doesn't make a change in inventory.

Now, the problem is, I'd like to, when a estimate is accepted, check a radio button in the estimate layout and automatically copy my lineitems items, at the price set previously in a new portal in a contract table that will make the change in inventory and eventually let me see what i'm missing and let me order them.

I know most people put estimate and contracts(invoices) in the same table, I am also ready to do that if  I can make sure estimates dont change inventory.

Can you help me figure the relations and the scripts I need to achieve that? Thank you so much.

Hi BleauMind,  Welcome and Merry Christmas. 

It looks like you put some thought into your invoicing system, and that's a good start.  Without more information, its hard to give advice on the best approach.  One thing to consider is what level of detail you want on your inventory.  This will depend on the type of product you're dealing with and your business practices.