Creating a button that copies data from one table record to another.

MutantST

This topic is 3009 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi All,

I would like to create a button that copies data from specific table and fields to other ones on display in my form. The context for this is that I am creating a button that copies data that has already been entered and displayed in some text merge fields. i.e., Account address (first table), and I would love to have that data copied to the location address fields (second table).

See attached file.

Any help would be gratefully received (Complete beginner).

Cheers, Simon

DB_SC_Grab- button question.tiff

Assumption - the layout shown uses related fields to display the information at top right - let's say the relationship is called Shoot_Account, so Contact Name is really  Shoot_Account::ContactName

A script could set the local (Shoot fields) like:

Set Field [Shoot::LocationBusinessName; Shoot_Account::LocationBusinessName]
Set Field [Shoot::FBN; Shoot_Account::FBN]
etc

I have just entered  . .. 

Set Field [ShootLocations::LocationBusinessName; GeneralAccounts::GeneralAccName]
Set Field [ShootLocations::LocationFBN; GeneralAccounts::GeneralAccPhisAddressFBN]
etc..

and it returns . . .

Specified table cannot be found.

Your assumptions were correct though :)

1 hour ago, MutantST said:

Set Field [ShootLocations::LocationBusinessName; GeneralAccounts::GeneralAccName]
Set Field [ShootLocations::LocationFBN; GeneralAccounts::GeneralAccPhisAddressFBN]
etc..

and it returns . . .

Specified table cannot be found.

You need to use your own field and table names. If your parent table is named Accounts and your child table is named Bookings, then use:

Set Field [ Bookings::Somefield ; Accounts::Somefield ]