Server Maintenance This Week. ×

XLST for import to Filemaker

_Mark__

This topic is 2262 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all,

I'm completely new to XML and I'm making an XLST for an XML feed into my Filemaker database.

Surprisingly, I got the basics down rather fast, but I'm really stumped on a few fields.

See attached XLST, sample dataset and Filemaker test database.

Referencing the XSLT metadata, the import works perfectly fine for the nodes named 'titleId' down through 'dealType' as well as the nodes under 'licensingWindow'. However I can't seem to get the values of a few other nodes. The trouble for me is that the nodes are nested in as child nodes that aren't named uniquely and I just can't figure out how to get their values.

Example:

<titleListingTextSets>
            <listingTexts>
                <listingText>
                    <name>SYNOPSIS75</name>
                    <value>Mickey continues to feel mounting pressure from the network.</value>
                </listingText>
                <listingText>
                    <name>SYNOPSIS234</name>
                    <value>Mickey continues to feel mounting pressure from the network as an affiliates dinner is fast approaching and they need something to sell to advertisers.</value>
                </listingText>
                <listingText>

What I'm looking for is the value (text beginning with the word Mickey) of the field 'value' on the node under the ones whose name is 'name' containing the values 'SYNOPSIS75' and 'SYNOPSIS234'. Those values seem to be the only way to uniquely identify the 'value' fields. That's what I'm not getting. I had one try that did correctly identify and pull over the value data but it messed with the overall for-each I need for importing a number of records and thus I only got the data for a single record.

I'm guessing there is an easy fix for this, but I'm just not familiar enough with XML to know it yet.