Taking value from last related record

This topic is 8604 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have two related databases (a master database and a related database). The related database has many records that are related to records in the master database. I have a field in the master database in which I want to put a value from the LAST related record in the related database. So each record in the master database will show the value from it's last related record in the related database. I did this once before and I've forgotten now. Please help. Thanks.

I don't know how to do this completely automatically, but you can create a another relationship with the related file, call it:

LastRecRel

match

Last with Record No.

Last is a new field in the master. Record No. is a record number field in the related file. Setup the second relationship with a script which sets Last = Max(FirstRelationship::Record No.)

then display LastRecRel::Field.

I don't know of a way to do this without a script step without a index based upon a relationship (which you can't do). -bd

quote:

Originally posted by LiveOak:

I don't know how to do this completely automatically, but you can create a another relationship with the related file, call it:

LastRecRel

match

Last with Record No.

Last is a new field in the master. Record No. is a record number field in the related file. Setup the second relationship with a script which sets Last = Max(FirstRelationship::Record No.)

then display LastRecRel::Field.

I don't know of a way to do this without a script step without a index based upon a relationship (which you can't do). -bd

Thanks LiveOak,