Adding data to a related file

This topic is 8588 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have not been able to get any results from an answer to a previous question. Maybe I am not interpreting it correctly.

I will pose it as simply and detailed as I can:

I have one file called test. I consider it the related file. It has 2 fields: 1. Name text indexed

2. City text

I have a master file called mtest

It has 2 fields: 1. Name text

2. City text lookup

looked up value: copy from "test.fp5"::city

"If no exact match do not copy" is selected

"Don't copy contents if empty" is checked.

Look up a value from the first matching record given by the relationship: test

Define Relationship:

Related name: test

Relationship: name = ::name

Related field: test.fp5

Prohibit mod of value: not checked

Allow creation of related records: checked

Match data from field in current file: mtest.fp5 name

With data from field in related file ::name

Now: What can I do here?:

If I add a name and city in mtest, nothing happens in test.

If I add a name and city in test, nothing happens in mtest.

If I put a name in a record in test and the same name in a record in mtest. Adding a city to the record in mtest does nothing in test.

Dave