Basic Flaw in FileMaker (server & client)??

This topic is 8549 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm new to FileMaker so I may be way off track, but here's my question: How does FileMaker know which file to open if multiple machines are hosting files with the same name? We have FileMaker Server 5 and it is hosting a file named "Y2K". As a test, I created another multiuser file named "Y2K" on my client PC (with totally different fields). I tested a script which uses the "OPEN" statement and it appears to open the first file named "Y2K" (which happens to be on my PC, not on the server). What this means is that now that we've had to put a fully-capable client on each user's machine, any user could potentially screw up existing scripts, etc. by simply creating and hosting a file with a name that matches an existing file hosted by the server.

Is this truly a problem or am I missing something? Why doesn't the OPEN statement in the scripting language allow you to specify the server?

quote:

Originally posted by rsokoloski:

I'm new to FileMaker so I may be way off track, but here's my question: How does FileMaker know which file to open if multiple machines are hosting files with the same name? We have FileMaker Server 5 and it is hosting a file named "Y2K". As a test, I created another multiuser file named "Y2K" on my client PC (with totally different fields). I tested a script which uses the "OPEN" statement and it appears to open the first file named "Y2K" (which happens to be on my PC, not on the server). What this means is that now that we've had to put a fully-capable client on each user's machine, any user could potentially screw up existing scripts, etc. by simply creating and hosting a file with a name that matches an existing file hosted by the server.

Is this truly a problem or am I missing something? Why doesn't the OPEN statement in the scripting language allow you to specify the server?