Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Using a Script to change value in a field with repetition.

This topic is 4433 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to scripts and am trying to do something which is probably simple, but I can't make work.

My company uses FM to quote projects. I have created a separate database for pricing per contractor. In the quoting database , the user has to pick which contractor they are quoting. Then when the user picks a labor item, the price for that item is found using an auto-calculated result using an IF statement. This is how it is set up, I'm sure there is a better way but it works now if you pick the contractor before adding the labor items.

QUOTE::Cash Labor=Lookup(PRICING::Cash Cost)*

QUOTE::Smith Contracting Labor=Lookup(PRICING::Smith Cost)*

QUOTE::ABC Contractors=Lookup(PRICING::ABC cost)*

*These are stored as numbers using the looked-up value, not calculations.

QUOTE::Labor Cost= If(Contractor (a text field) = "Cash"; Cash Labor; if (Contractor = "Smith Contracting" ; Smith Contracting Labor...etc*

*This is set up as number type with the Auto-enter Calculation replaces current value so that we can change the costs for special circumstances

Because we can quote multiple labor items, I have LABOR ITEM (TEXT, looked-up value from PRICING) set up as a field with 25 repetitions and LABOR COST is set up to do 25 repetitions.

My problem is that if you have done a quote and change the contractor it only changes the first value of LABOR COST. I also have INSTALL COST and MATERIAL COST (fields with repetition) and it only changes their first value as well.

I was hoping by using a script that starts upon exit of CONTRACTOR that uses the set field I could change all the values.

Any advice?