Problems with Case function

This topic is 3569 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm new to filemaker pro advanced 13 and encountered some problems with the case function. I have to following function:

Case ( Product ID = Order Book_Test::ProductID ; Case ( Order Book_Test::Eformat = "Date&Price" ; Case ( Order Book_Test::Date = ( Get (CurrentDate)); Count ( Order Book_Test::Eformat))))

my problem is that filemaker stops at the first true Case. However, I need filemaker to validate all Cases and based on this result to execute the Count function. 

How can i solve this issue?

Thanks

Sam

First thing, you are not using the Case() function correctly: it's not meant to be nested - on the contrary, the purpose of the Case() function is to eliminate nested Ifs. You also need to attach a result to each test.

Now, if you want to test for all those conditions being true, then you should be using something like =

Case (
Product ID = Order Book_Test::ProductID
and
Order Book_Test::Eformat = "Date&Price"
and
Order Book_Test::Date = Get (CurrentDate)
;
Count ( Order Book_Test::Eformat)
)

This will evaluate all three statements and if all return true, the count function will be executed and its result returned. Otherwise the result will be empty.

It doesn't matter and is really just a preference, but when there is just a single test-result needed (even though the test is made up of multiple parts), you can use the If statement instead. Either way, it's best to put extra bracketing around the test which use operators like "and", "or", "not" to make sure the are evaluated as you want them to be. e.g.

If (
       (Product ID = Order Book_Test::ProductID)
      and
       (Order Book_Test::Eformat = "Date&Price")
      and
       (Order Book_Test::Date = Get(CurrentDate));
      Count(Order Book_Test::Eformat);
      "")