Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Posting Messages on Records?? How?

This topic is 7296 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am trying to build a small Filemaker Pro data base where I can interact with my co-workers. For example: Each record is a task for the co-worker. Eg. A salesman called John. I ask him to visit my customers "william". I need to post messages on the record, and "talk" to my c-worker as the task develops.

I am new to FileMaker, and can create the records with each field. But how do I post messages on the record? I mean, How do I make a button that will make new fields or entries on the records?

May be someone has already built something similar. But I guess I am typing the wrong words when I search.

What I want to build is very similar to this forum. But it should run on Filemaker.

Thanks for any help!

Hi Bernardo, the easiest way to do this is to make the Comment/Posted Message field a repeating field. The user can just click into the first unused repetition to post a message.

An alternative is to have two related files, Tasks.fp5 and Messages.fp5, with "Allow creation of related records" selected, and ask users to enter comments into the portal.

Jerry

Hi QuinTech!

Thanks for posting.

I have now two databases as you sugested (your second option), Messages.fp5 only has one field. Tasks.fp5 has a portal where I type the message, and a new record is created on Messages.fp5.

After typing the message on the record at task.fp5, the portal becomes empty. And the message is not seen on the record at tasks.fp5.

Please:

1) How do I get the record at tasks.fp5 to display the messages that were stored on messages.fp5?

2) How does Filemaker "know" which messages belong to which record?

Thanks again!

Hi Quin Tech!

Thanks for the interest. Could you help me further?

I can't figure out how to stop one user from editing another user's messages.

Also I would like to place a small picture of the user close to each post.