Copy Record From Portal

This topic is 8606 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

>In File A the user will enter a last name.

>The portal in file A will then list all addresses from File B where the last name matches.

>I want a button in each portal row...once clicked it will copy the 4 address fields from that portal row to fields defined in File A.

I am new to FM, but much exp in DB's & programming. I have the button in each portal row, but I can only get the script to copy all of the displayed portal records. I have not figured out how to specify individual fields in a single row. Any help here?

quote:

Originally posted by menkes:

>In File A the user will enter a last name.

>The portal in file A will then list all addresses from File B where the last name matches.

>I want a button in each portal row...once clicked it will copy the 4 address fields from that portal row to fields defined in File A.

I am new to FM, but much exp in DB's & programming. I have the button in each portal row, but I can only get the script to copy all of the displayed portal records. I have not figured out how to specify individual fields in a single row. Any help here?

You don't even need to run an external script. Let's say that the relationship the Portal is based on is "FileB|LastName" and the addresses in each portal row are "Address1" thru "Address4" and that you have similarly named fields in your File A. Then the following script should do the job.

Set Field [ Address1, FileB|LastName::Address1 ]

Set Field [ Address2, FileB|LastName::Address2 ]

Set Field [ Address3, FileB|LastName::Address3 ]

Set Field [ Address4, FileB|LastName::Address4 ]

If this script is attached to a button in the portal, then the related record that the script will be working with will be the portal row the button was in.

Chuck