Server Maintenance This Week. ×

SQL instead of unstored calc to display items of value list?

This topic is 3478 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Two tables

Journalists ------  RecordID = JournalistID ------ Affiliations   (very simple)

1 Value List

called "ListAffiliationsForJournalist", based on Journalists, Affiliations::Name

1 Unstored calculation field

on Journalists, ValueListItems ( Get (FileName) ; "ListAffiliationsForJournalist" )

All of this works - if a journalist record has two affiliations records, the unstored calculation field lists the names of both affiliations.

HOWEVER: I'm worried about performance. Is there a way to replace this unstored calculation with an Execute SQL function?

I just spend several hours reading up on SQL and FileMaker (I'm really new with this), and I'm not getting anywhere... I believe I just need a simple sample to get me started in the above context. Or maybe this doesn't make sense at all??

Thank you so much in advance!

SELECT name FROM Affiliations WHERE JournalistID = <the journalist id you are on>

Or you could do away with calcs altogether and do the affiliation joining as a scripted workflow: when a journalist adds a new affiliation, you add a new join record between journalist and affiliation.  The affiliations can then just be listed as related records.

• Like 1

I'm embarrassed to ask, but what about the exact syntax?

Sticking with the calculation for now, based on http://www.filemaker.com/help/12/fmp/html/func_ref3.33.6.html  I'm guessing it should look like this:
ExecuteSQL ("SELECT name FROM Affiliations WHERE JournalistID = <RecordID>"; " "; " ")  

But this returns a "?" in the calculation field.
Edited by artvault

I'm guessing it should look like this:

ExecuteSQL ("SELECT name FROM Affiliations WHERE JournalistID = RecordID"; " "; " ") 

It should look like

ExecuteSQL ( "

SELECT name

FROM Affiliations

WHERE JournalistID = ?

" ; " "; " " ; RecordID

)