Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Layout to pull data from different tables based on selection

Arno

This topic is 2325 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi There,

I’m pretty new with using Filemaker, but still I built a solution that fits pretty all my needs (for now…)

I’m still experiencing one big problem with my solution for which I would need help.

Here’s the context : I run a little company. We receive financial reports every quarter.

All quarterly reports ( Excel file or csv file) have the exact same form.

I then created a layout based on the table created when importing the csv that works properly.

My need: as I’m to receive a new financial report on next quarters (Q12018, Q22018, Q32018 etc.), I would like to pull the new data from my Main layout.

Is there a way of having a layout pull the data from the new table (actually whatever table) to be created each time I’ll be importing a new Financial Report without getting rid of the original data (which I would like to keep in place, for obvious reasons)? Let’s say from a pull down?

Thank you very much for your help and don’t hesitate to get back to me if my explanations aren’t clear enough.

Edited by Arno

You don't need a new layout or new tables. You should be importing the data to new records. Then you can simply do a Find to call up whatever quarter(s) you want to look at.

Welcome to the forums.

• Newbies

Many thanks for your answer.

Just to make sure I get it : I just import new data (from new quarter) in the main table. So I should add a field containing the quarter name so I can search by that field ?

Furthermore, as each quarter is about 40K lines (and keep growing), would there be a risk to "overload" the table at a certain point?

Thank you

• Newbies
16 hours ago, Arno said:

I just import new data (from new quarter) in the main table. So I should add a field containing the quarter name so I can search by that field ?