Server Maintenance This Week. ×

How to relate this tables?

loscamos

This topic is 3152 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello, I started using Filemaker some days ago and I can't find a solution for what I what to do. I have to tables. One with patients and one for visits. As you can see from the images the patient table has some button (visit 1-2-3-4). What I would like to do is this: I create a record with patient 001, then i click on visit 1 and this create a record on table visit that must be related to patient 1. The same thing for patient 2. When I click on visit 1 on patient 2 I want a record on visit table related to patient 2. Also the button has to show the record so when I click on visit 1 I can add all the information. Can someone please help me out. I'm studying on a course but I can't find a solution. Thanks

visit.png

patient.png

You need to have an ID for each patient record and each visit record created must be related by that same ID (patient::id = visit::patient_id).

To script your buttons to create a new related visit record you would need to set a variable to the patient ID, freeze the window, go to the visit layout, create a new record, set the patient_id field to the variable and return to original layout.

Why are you limiting the system to only track up to nine visits? I think a better solution would be to have visits displayed in a portal and just use one button to add a visit - an unlimited amount of visits. You can then edit the visit record within the portal or use a pop-over.

Edited by madman411
  • Like 2

The reason why I want button related to visit is because I need to migrate an old database made by someone else. 

The old databse was built like that:

Record 1:

All patient information (Name, Birth date, Address, etc...)
All visits (Visit 1 exam 1, Visit 1 exam 2, Visit 1 exam 3  - Visit 2 exam 1, Visit 2 exam 2, Visit 2 exam 3, Visit 3 exam 1, Visit 3 exam 2, Visit 3 exam 3, etc...)

Record 1: