Server Maintenance This Week. ×

SQL Sum and Group Question

This topic is 1626 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Well, I'm new to SQL and have used it in it's basic select  mode. 

Now I have been asked too create a dashboard using data from different tables to display. Which on the most part is OK and working great.

I have had a request for a top customer list for the month and previous month (say best 5 ranked from 1-5.) and not together so 2 seperate views

I am able to pull customers and SUM totals (seperately)for the month using SELECT DISTINCT I am able to get a list of the customers for the month. How would you then get a total or SUM of the invoice amounts for the given month with the customer name and their total ? also is there a similar function to FRACTION in filemaker?

Listed is my SQL Statement that just returns a ?

Which I understand to mean a syntax error however, being a SQL "Virgin" any halp would be appreciated. I know I am able to do this natively through filemaker however, as I said this is for a dashboard that uses data from a number of tables.

Here is my calc that is obviously wrong.

Currently working with Filemaker 15 Advanced.

Let ( [ 

ReturnSub = "\n" ; 
SQLResult = ExecuteSQL ( 
"SELECT DISTINCT (a.\"Customer Name\"), SUM(a.\"InvoiceTotal\")
FROM \"Invoices \" a
WHERE a.\"Invoice Sub Total\" > ? AND a.\"InvoiceMonth\" = ? AND a.\"InvoiceYear\" = ? AND a.\"Job Status\" <> ?" 
GROUP ON a.\"Customer Name\" ASC; 

"    " ; "|*|" ; 

"0" ; Month(Get(CurrentDate))-1 ; Year(Get(CurrentDate)); "Giveaway"

) ] ; 

Substitute ( SQLResult ; [ ¶ ; ReturnSub ] ; [ "|*|" ; ¶ ]  )

)

Olger, Thanks for pointing that out have corrected and still get the dreaded ?

I guess my point is what i am trying to do even achievable the way I am approaching it or should I be taking a different approach baring in mind that from what I understand FM SQL has its limits.

Cheers