Inventory Control

This topic is 8600 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

It's times like these, i feel inadaquate (like when i can't spell too . . .)

Anyway, this seems like it would have to have a simple solution, but i just don't know it.

I have to develop a inventory control that keeps track of different companies shells (printing term). It obviously needs to subtract and add from the number of Quantity on Hand each time some are removed or added.

I was thinking initially 3 DB's. Main with all company info and Current QOH. Then a Removal DB and an Addition DB. IS THIS THE BEST WAY?:? and if it is, i have already tried it, but i can't figure a calculation or script that would correctly update the Current QOH?!?!?!

Is it just me, or is this hard. Sounds like it should be easy, but hey, i'm not very bright.

Thanks

Jeremy

I am currently setting something similiar up. I am fairly new to FM so here is an idea maybe you an work from

One database with a sript that will add and subtrat your quantity number,

example- you just invoiced a customer and sold him something from your inventory. After the invoice prints a script subtracts 1 from the quantity on hand from your inventory database.

Just a thought maybe you can work from

Dave

well, we're talking paper here. So i have different quantities coming and going, plus we want to keep track of when it's coming and going. If we didn't need to keep track of when it came and went, it'd be a sinch.

so i'm thinking i HAVE to have different databases to keep track of the coming and going. But if that is the case, i don't know how to keep an accurate count.

If you have any ideas, keep 'em coming, i'm working around a few, and if i come up with something, i'll let you guys know.

jeremy

You explained that a "shell" is a printing term, but you didn't explain what it is!

There is no one way to write an inventory control system. These systems can be greater in complexity than accounting systems.