Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Using Popovers instead of New Windows

This topic is 3516 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm a newbie and  would like to use a a popover in the same way that I have been using windows in the past. I'm confused as to how to do this if the data I need is from a related table/record. Here is an example of a  window that I would rather turn into a popover:

In this the window is a new layout from a related table (That's actually a related table from an "external data source"). It would create a new record based on information from the originating record:

New Window[]

Go to Layout ["Event Details Admin Sui" (SampleEvents)]

Show/Hide Status Area [Hide]

Adjust Window [Resize to Fit]

Enter Find Mode[]

Set Field [sampleEvents::Event ID; Get(ScriptParameter)]

Perform Find[]

Set WIndow Title [Current Window; New Title: SampleEvents::Zulu Summary]

Set Variable [$from_suical; Value:1]

Thanks in advance for any help on this matter!

Hi guywithpipe,

Unlike a new window, a popover is basically an integral part of the current layout, and is thus tied to the same TO, record, mode, etc, as the rest of the layout (much like the panels in a tab control are all part of the same layout).  You can, of course, include related fields or a portal, in the same way you could place those items on the main part of the layout, but that won't help with your scenario.  What you can't do is show a different layout, record, or context in the popover, nor can you switch the popover into Find mode independently of the layout as a whole.