Newbies jtbassett4 Posted December 31, 2015 Newbies Posted December 31, 2015 Hello - I'm not a developer but have been using FMP for a long time. I've never learned scripting but am now taking a stab (unsuccessfully as yet) at it. My database begins with tables for "Projects" ... and these are related to "Grants" ... and these are related to "SubGrants." From the "Projects" screen, I'm trying to create a script for a button in order to create a new "Grant." FYI, I've been doing this for years now by simply using the portal relationships ... but I'm designing for use by others, so I'm trying to automate things a bit more so the user doesn't need to know too much about FileMaker. Here's what I have but it doesn't return a "ProjectID" to the "Grants" table. Let me know if you can help ... thanks in advance! John B Set Variable [ $Set Global ID ; Value:Renewal Projects::zDCAProjectIDTemp = Renewal Projects::zDCAProjectID.pk ] Commit Records/Requests Go to Layout [ “HUD Grants” (HUD Grants) ] New Record/Request Set Field [ HUD Grants::zDCAProjectID.fk ] Commit Records/Requests
LaRetta Posted December 31, 2015 Posted December 31, 2015 (edited) Hi there! Welcome to FMForums! I see no purpose in the Renewal Projects::zDCAProjectIDTemp field at all. Try this: Set Variable [ $projectID ; Value:Renewal Projects::zDCAProjectID.pk ] Freeze Window Go to Layout [ “HUD Grants” (HUD Grants) ] New Record/Request Set Field [ HUD Grants::zDCAProjectID.fk ; $projectID ] Commit Records/Requests The Commit Records/Requests is not really needed since you will leave your User on the Grants layout to continue entering data, right? If you plan on simply returning the User to the Projects layout, just add a final step: Go To Layout [ original layout ] If you get stuck, post back and we'll help you further. Notice also that, on your original Set Field[] step, you do not have a value returned. Set Field[] requires two entries. The first is the field to set and the second is the value to set it with, under the 'calculated result' button. Edited December 31, 2015 by LaRetta
Newbies jtbassett4 Posted January 4, 2016 Author Newbies Posted January 4, 2016 Hey LaRetta: Thank much for replying to my post! I appreciate your help very much! I'm still having trouble getting this "Set Field" statement into the script. Set Field [ HUD Grants::zDCAProjectID.fk ; $projectID ] Specifically, I can't discover how to get the "; $projectID" into the script. Again, I appreciate your help and will keep trying! Hello from GA ... I have a nephew in Portland. Nice place out there! Best, John B ps - tried to upload a snapshot from my file, but it "failed"
Newbies jtbassett4 Posted January 4, 2016 Author Newbies Posted January 4, 2016 Tks Lee LaRetta ... Here's a zipped screen shot. Using the "Calculation" option, all I can see to do is to type in the "; $ProjectID" ... but this returns an error. Thanks, j PS ... zipped file failed to upload
comment Posted January 4, 2016 Posted January 4, 2016 (edited) 39 minutes ago, jtbassett4 said: Using the "Calculation" option, all I can see to do is to type in the "; $ProjectID" ... but this returns an error. Thanks, j Just type in the expression = $projectID without any quotes or punctuation. Side note: Your script creates a related record without any data. I am not sure that's a good thing to do. 1 hour ago, Lee Smith said: To attach a file, you will need to zip it. You don't need to zip images. Actually, since the last update, you don't need to zip Filemaker files either. Edited January 4, 2016 by comment
Newbies jtbassett4 Posted January 5, 2016 Author Newbies Posted January 5, 2016 Thanks everyone! I really appreciate your help! But I'm still not doing something right. It isn't working. The $ProjectID doesn't get established in the new table record. Here's where I am with the script: Set Variable [$ProjectID; Value:$Renewal Projects::zDCAProjectID.pk] Freeze Window Go to Layout ["HUD Grants" (HUD Grants)] New Record/Request Set Field [HUD Grants::zDCAProjectID.fk = $ProjectID] Commit Records/Requests []
LaRetta Posted January 5, 2016 Posted January 5, 2016 Set Variable [ $projectID; Value:RenewalProjects::ProjectID.pk ] Go to Layout [ “HUD Grants” (HUD Grants) ] New Record/Request Set Field [ HUD Grants::ProjectID.fk; $projectID ] # then go to the field in Grants to begin entering Grant information Go to Field [ HUD Grants::Type ] Like this ... and also see attached sample file. :-) Grants.fmp12 drop that =. The first is the field to set and the second is the value. I'm hoping the file shows it very clearly. Once you see it, you'll completely understand. :-) From Projects, set the variable with the pk of the table - in this case ProjectID. Then go to the Grants table and set the projects fk field with the variable. And to be sure you don't struggle further ... please see attached video. I probably should have provided the video from the beginning. Set Field.mp4
Newbies jtbassett4 Posted January 5, 2016 Author Newbies Posted January 5, 2016 Hey LaRetta Finally got it! I hadn't realized that I needed to "Specify Target Field" and then do a "Calculated Result." I had assumed it was one or the other. This and I am so not accustomed to using the variable as a result of a calculation. As I said earlier, I knew it was something I was not doing correctly. So thanks so much to you and to others for helping me. I've used FMP for years to manage state HUD programs. So let me know if I can ever help you in any way! Best always, John B ps - I would send the file as an upload, but I am still unable to upload any type of file. It could be the older version of Explorer that I am using (mandated by our IT department at present). Just for grins, I may try again using a different browser.
LaRetta Posted January 5, 2016 Posted January 5, 2016 On 12/31/2015 at 8:12 AM, LaRetta said: Notice also that, on your original Set Field[] step, you do not have a value returned. Set Field[] requires two entries. The first is the field to set and the second is the value to set it with, under the 'calculated result' button. I'm glad you got it, John. No need to upload your file now that I can tell. :-)
Recommended Posts
This topic is 3246 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now