Sign in to follow this  
Julio J

Tabs In List View

Hello,

I am fairly new to FileMaker and I have designed an Inventory Management DB. In one of my layouts, I have a list of the current inventory. The layout is configured as a List View layout. I have 2 Groups of multiple tabs which show details of the item being viewed. 

One thing I have noticed is when I switch tabs on the selected record, ALL of the tabs in the list also switch.

e.g. If I have 3 Tabs: Info, Details, and Notes

If I switch to the Details Tab, the rest of the records in the list view also switch to the Details Tab.

Is there a way to make sure that only the record I am viewing in the List View switches tabs?

Thank you all for your help.

Cheers.

45 minutes ago, Julio J said:

Is there a way to make sure that only the record I am viewing in the List View switches tabs?

No, the selected tab is a property of the layout, not of any specific record.

2 hours ago, comment said:

No, the selected tab is a property of the layout, not of any specific record.

Thank you for your response.

Hi Julio,

You might consider popovers in the row - one for Info, Details and Notes.  Popovers will respect the record of the row in which it resides.

I should mention however, that it might make more sense to have a 'go to detail' button in the row and present all information in a form layout, which is pretty standard.  You can have tabs there - or popovers - or even portals.  :wink3:

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.