Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Creating a simple find script

This topic is 3418 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Looking for some help with creating a simple script.  We have a database of inventory items, when the user enters a layout to search for the item, he is presented with a screen that has the item field on it and a button that performs a script.  The idea is to simply perform a lookup of the number that is entered in the field and then open the next layout that shows the table view with only those items with that item no.  I have created a script but something is missing obviously, what do I need perform the find on what is entered in the field, or is it possible to create a variable just for that search and then do a search and go to the layout.  Attached is a picture of the script, any help is appreciated as I'm very new to Filemaker

Thanks

Report Script.tiff

Thanks Lee,

When I create the following script following the instructions in the link you provided I do it as follows :

Go to Layout ["JPF_reportsbyitems"(itloca)]

Enter Find Mode [Pause]

Perform Find []

Go to Layout ["JPF_findmyitemsresults" (itloca)]

This is what happens, the script goes to the layout, it has one field on it and it goes into find mode.  The problem that happens is when it goes into find mode it does not allow me to enter the item number, it automatically goes into find mode and grays out the field, so when it goes into the last layout it shows nothing as it is trying find part numbers that have nothing in it.  

Perhaps I'm missing something in this script setup

When entering a find, do I have to create a variable and then within the script tell the find to search for field = "input".  I'm kinda confused on how to get 

Create a global field to hold the searched item no, then write a script like

Set Variable [ $searchTerm ; Table::gSearchField ]
If [ IsEmpty ( Table::gSearchField ) ]
  Exit Field
End If
Enter Find Mode [ no pause ]