Sign in to follow this  
Trinity32244

styles and themes tab control

I am new to using themes and styles.  I have chosen the onyx theme for my new project.  My issue I am having is for tab controls I put in the layout are not formatting when I change object attributes.  I have set fill and line to no fill and no lines yet it still shows up with borders and a bar behind the tab selection area.  I use transparent tab panels for a lot of user interface objectives and have wasted hours trying to figure out why it won't change when I make them in the inspector bar

Try it this way.  Set the labels to 10 points, so you can see them.  Outside the tab control, with your mouse, click and drag over the tab control so it highlights.  In the inspector>appearance tab, click the box to remove all formatting.  Then go down and change everything to 'none' or the first box (white line with line thru it). 

Don't select the tabs individually,

Then set the label width to '0', and the tabs will disappear.

I just tried it on a new/blank layout

Edit:  simplified response

Hi Trinity,

If you want to use Onyx ... that theme will be deprecated.  http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/12641/kw/deprecated%20theme

If you wish to use it, copy that theme to custom theme and only use your new custom theme going forward.  It isn't indicated when these themes will be removed from theme options but it is best to start now otherwise later, you'll have to go through each layout and change them to custom later which will waste your time.

Custom themes you create can be imported between files.  You indicate you are on version 11 - please update your profile if you get the chance.  :-)