Does FQL actually work?

This topic is 2418 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I've been working with SQL databases for about 12 years now, and have stumbled across this monstrosity in a new position - and I really don't get the translation between Filemaker and SQL.

This should work according to the documentation:

ExecuteSQL ( " SELECT Customer_EVENT::Inv_dollars )  FROM Customer_Event WHERE Customer_EVENT::FlagReview = \" " ; "" ; "" )

...or something. I really can't even get a simple SQL Statement just pulling anything more than 1 field to work. Is there a reference out there (not Filemaker or FM14 Bible) that actually explains in detail WHY FQL statements are made the way they are and how each piece interacts?

I'm not sure I can do this with a calculation, but it's entirely possible. I'm just trying to get a SUM on a certain set of records to display SOMEWHERE in a layout. The fields are from a related table, but have nothing to do with the related records. It's just a way to SUM the objects in a portal by "filtering" the amount.

A few things jump out:

1. Your parentheses are unbalanced;
  2. You need to use unqualified field names, without the TO prefix;
  3. You need to enclose character constants in pairs of single quotation marks; what you have now is an opening double-quote character, with no content and no closing.

Is there a reference out there

There is a fm13_sql_reference.pdf document available from FMI site.

Edited by comment

In addition to Comment's observations, I will add that if you're looking for records where FlagReview is empty, you should use IS NULL, e.g.,

ExecuteSQL ( 

"SELECT Inv_dollars  
 FROM Customer_Event 
 WHERE FlagReview IS NULL" 

; "" ; "" )

...which will give you a return separated list of all the matching Inv_dollars amounts (which I'm guessing is not what you actually want).

You mentioned trying to get a sum -- perhaps this will do the trick?

ExecuteSQL (