Import data into Filemaker from Excel File stored on Container

This topic is 2124 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

First of all, I am a newbie on Filemaker so still learning every day new techniques... I like to search in the forums to deal with the challenges I find but this one I am posting I couldn't find anything so I am starting a new topic just in case.

I am trying to set a script to import data into our Filemaker DB from a Excel file. Normally we would download every day an excel file from our Courier company with all the tracking information and then import that info into our orders table. What I would like to set is a script that would run everynight and donwload the Excel file into a Container Field and then use that container as a source for a recurring Import. Does this make any sense? I would like to achieve is to not store any file outside of Filemaker. Is this possible?

thanks a lot again for your time,

Best regards,

• 4 weeks later...

Hi Docasar,

I am trying to do a similar thing... I'd like to drop a CSV file into a (global) container field (for convenience rather than setting a path in concrete), then be able to read the contents of that file into one of the tables.
I wasn't sure if I was able to read the contents directly (should be possible right?), but thought I could then export it back (was CSV) out to a known path (get(temporary path) in this case) then Import it back in. Whilst it's not the most elegant solution (double handling the file for sure), I was not sure how to Export it back to this temporary folder because I'm not saving an FM file - its a file within a container.

Whatever the method, there must be a tricky way to import entries from a CSV that is already stored in a container field.  I'm going to work on this over the next few days - if I find a solution I'll let you know.  If one of you gurus out there already know a method I'm keen to learn.

Thanks,
Greg