Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Need Some Quick Help!

This topic is 7336 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am trying to finish up my first project for a deadline and am stuck on one part... I hope this is possible.

I need to display a "product rating" for each record. I want the output for the data to be a graphic ( 1 - 5 stars for example). How can I have the user do this?

My idea was to present a set of Radio Buttons which they could choose one of the five options. Now how would I get their rating to display as a certain graphic in a Layout / Template?

Anyone on tonight... I could sure use the help!

Thanks

Version: v7.x

Platform: Mac OS X Panther

Make five different graphics, store them in a five fields. Then make a calculated container field and use the Case or Choose function to return the correct image based on the rating.

So I need to make five new fields... are they text fields?

I am sorry but I am new to FileMaker. The fact that this is possible gives me hope but would you mind take a couple minutes and walk me through it... it would really be great if you could!

Many thanks

Make five container fields, then paste the images in. Then make the calculation field (set result to container)

Case (

Rating = 1, Rating1Star,

Rating = 2, Rating2Star,

Rating = 3, Rating3Star,

Rating = 4, Rating4Star,

Rating = 5, Rating5Star

)

OK, I think I got that all done. When you say "paste the images in", you mean I need to create a new Layout / Template with those fields and drag and drop the images in?

Now how do I place this on my "results" page so it displays the correct image?

Thanks again for the help... really appriciate it!

OK, in an attempt to not waste your time anymore I am going to layout exactly what I have done so perhaps you can tell me where I have gone wrong.

(1) I created 6 new fields in my table:

Rating1Star (container)

Rating2Star (container)

Rating3Star (container)

Rating4Star (container)