Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Painfully Slow Layout Designing in 7/8 vs. 6 ??

This topic is 5942 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi folks, I'm a fairly skilled FMP6 developer running Windows XP. I recently downloaded the trial version of 8.0 (skipped the v7 series completely-hah!) to see what all the hoopla was about and I must say there do seem to be some nice features most notably built in PDF support.

HOWEVER.. one thing that hit me right away was how SLOW the layout mode has become. I am very fast with the mouse+keyboard and like to move,resize and drag things around on layouts quickly. With 6.0 this was fine, things were snappy and immediate.

With 8.0, I find there is a VERY noticable "lag" between when I grab an object and start to drag it and when it actually starts moving. Also there is less "smoothness" to the dragging and I find it harder to position objects with 1-pixel precision due to this slowness.

Overall the layout mode is just much less natural feeling to me, has anyone else experienced this? For kicks I installed v7 Developer which I had purchased but never used and noticed the same problem so it seems to have carried forward from that edition. I was told by my Mac buddy that on the Mac he did not notice this issue-- so maybe its a PC-only problem?

Interested in some feedback. Thanks!

Hmmm, I run FM7 and 8 on Windows and Mac and I don't notice any slowness in layout mode. And I too can get moving pretty fast with objects in layout mode.

Using:

2.66GHz Pentium4, Win XP Pro, 128Mb video card

533MHz Mac G4, OS Tiger

I don't know what the cause is but I really don't think the FM7 & 8 applications are the culprit.

• Newbies

I found the original FM7 on the PC to be painfully slow for layouts as well - I was continually rubber-banding. Patching it seemed to help, and I changed to a faster computer, so it's managable now.