Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Need some guidance

This topic is 4563 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I everyone, I'm brand new to the FileMaker database but have some FB experience and a newbie here.

I'm well into a heavily modified starter solution for asset management and have been asked if FM will do something!

What I need to do is every time a assets mileage or hours is changed in a shared field of "current hours" have it recorded in a table that can then be reported from with a time stamp for each change to the field and it's value.

Could someone give me a bit of advice?

Thanks always in advance,

Jay

There may be better ways to do it, but perhaps you could use an "OnModify" Script Trigger for that field.

Create a new table to house the changes and Timestamp fields.

The script could create a new record and populate the information into the newly created table, and have the Timestamp field auto-populate the current time whenever a record is created.

You could also make a "Submit" button that executes that script, if you don't like using Script Triggers.

I have done something similar for tracking changes to a field. A table with a record for each change and have a timestamp is pretty easy to report on.

Is that the direction you are looking for?

• Newbies

Hi and thanks for replying, that's "I think" exactly the direction I want to go. A submit button would certainly do the trick for me until I get through my learning curve.

So the next thing to learn is how to take that field and link it to the submit button then send it to a table.

FM looks easy coming from MSSQL and MySQL, but it's not!

So I'll look into learning this next, I appreciate the lead,

have a good day.

Jay