Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Layout Conditionally Dependent on Field Value Entered?

parodytx

This topic is 3549 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Apologies in advance for the newbie question, but I really have searched extensively on the web, this site and various tutorials. My only conclusion is that I do not know which question to ask, as I am fairly accomplished in VBA. I am self-learning Filemaker Pro 12 as I need solutions for an Ipad and I like the ease of creation and modification on the fly.

Essentially, I have a database where the master might be many hundreds of fields, or I could create myriad tables and keys - this is irrelevant to the problem. What I would like is to create a solution where at the first field of entry, a dropdown allows for a selection of, say, 10 choices. When that field is filled, depending on the choice I would like a specific layout to appear for data entry. These layouts may have some fields in common with others but never all.

Put another way, if I have Item_Field, and user clicks A, I would like the layout for A to appear natively or show up in a portal below. When they click new record, it reverts to the main layout again.

I might also need this process to be iterative i.e. several levels down.

If this involves CASE scripting, that does not scare me, I just need to know what to look for in the reference materials as to what this process is called.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

"Essentially, I have a database where the master might be many hundreds of fields, or I could create myriad tables and keys - this is irrelevant to the problem."

Absolutely not.

This IS your problem: defining an appropriate data structure.

Howdy Parodytx, and welcome to the FM Forums,

I agree with Bruce about the data structure, but your description sounds like you are wanting a conditional value list?

See if one of these help