Hide Object based on Field Value and Permission

iroc_mxrider

This topic is 2393 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello,

Full disclosure: I am very new to scripting in FM.

I am trying to hide an object based on 2 criteria:

Leads::IsOnlineProposal = "No" and PatternCount (  $$Permissions ; "ViewOnlineProposal" ) = 0

When the Value for Leads::IsOnlineProposal is "Yes" I wanted my object ( just a big square to hide the customer data on the screen ) to hide everything on the screen. That part works great. But I wanted to give some users permission to still view the customer info ( or continue hiding the object ) when the permission is checked even if the value for Leads::IsOnlineProposal = "Yes". Thus the second part of the hide scripting in the hide section of the inspector. I cannot seem to figure out what to input into inspector to achieve this. Can anybody point me in the right direction? Any help is much appreciated. Hope it all makes sense! Thank you in advance, sorry if I posted in the wrong section!

I think you nailed it, Doug!  We could even drop the = 1 at the end since any number of matching patterns would return boolean true. 

Hi Iroc, welcome to FMForums!

If you are using a rectangle to hide the fields, it will work IF the 'allow entry' has been turned off.  It works better to place fields on a single-panel slider or tab control (it can easily be made invisible) and attach a single 'hide' calculation to that instead; it is much more efficient. Also, if you forget to disallow entry at some point, a User can still accidentally click into the area and land in a field and could change the value. Also consider how this all behaves in find or preview if there is a chance (even if slim one) that User might evoke that mode.