Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Removing Returns

This topic is 6123 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Welcome to FM Forums,

What version of FileMaker are you using? If you are using FM Developer 7 then perhaps the pros around here could work with you on creating a recursive function. This would in effect provide the looping type action that you need in your calculation.

Greg

Ok, I'll give it a try. I'm new to recursive functions myself... and I don't use Developer.

For those using Developer:

1. Create a custom function called:

TrimEndReturn (textfield)

2. The calc part of it should be something like:

Let ([rightcharacter = Right (textfield ; 1);

lengthremaining = Length (textfield) - 1];

If (rightcharacter = "

This has the unfortunate effect of stripping ALL punctuation from the end (as well as the beginning) of the text.

hmmm, good point. How about:

If(Right(MyTextField; 1) = "

Edited by Guest
Added IF statement

Nice, Thats even better. I think that may be as close to actually stripping trailing carriage returns as you can get (without developer). That is of course until FM adds the TrimCR function to version 24 of Filemaker Pro.

• 2 years later...

For general use, I believe that method has become obsolete in v.7

It's time for be fried for believes!!! When will internal functions be ....or which of the native functions are slower than the dealings of iteration max check's when making a recursive CF.

The question is if we always should recurse if a chance occures??

If a native function aready have some sort of recursivity inside, should it then be used moderately?

Wishfull thinking is if we like in assembler had a list of each native commands utilization of processer time. It's a waste of a developers time to build homebrewed tests each time in doubt, even worse sometimes you should even think up ways, which would give the most reliable measurements!

--sd