Server Maintenance This Week. ×

What is the best way to perform business logic after field update?

bruceiow

This topic is 3394 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi All,

I am fairly new to FM, but am an experienced developer of .net applications and have used access in the past also.

I am building a form that will need some business logic. Basically, upon update of field A or field B I need to create logic that checks that both field A and B are populated. If they are both populated I will then need to take both those values and execute a query (using A and B values in the where clause) to return a value. That value I will then display on my form.

Ok so in C#, F#, VBA or SQL I could knock that up in a matter of minutes; but In FM The solution is not readily apparent. I can see a trigger point to execute script but wanted to run by the pro's to see what mechanisms might be most efficient. 

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Filemaker (when used properly) is much more "declarative" in its paradigm than "imperative". So usually you would create a relationship to automatically flow the matching data once the matchfields have been populated.

Of course it really depends on the (largely missing) details of what this is really about. The other thing about Filemaker is that there are usually 4 or 5 ways to achieve the same thing, each with it's own pros and cons.

• Like 1

Ok so in C#, F#, VBA or SQL I could knock that up in a matter of minutes; but In FM The solution is not readily apparent. I can see a trigger point to execute script but wanted to run by the pro's to see what mechanisms might be most efficient. 

We share the same background... as Comment stated, there are many different ways to skin that cat.

You can certainly handle it with event triggers on those fields that will evaluate both fields and then do an ExecuteSQL() call to do you what you need done.